She’s Got Bette Davis Eyes

Baby Rhonda moment -by-moment:
This is the latest blog update I entered on Saturday, and haven’t hear anymore over the weekend. They say no news is good news but...

I don’t want to get too alarmed yet, but my heart is in my throat and I’m having difficulty concentrating on work, so here I am, begging your indulgence and prayers- please bear with me. I’m not a religious person, so anything you have to offer, BRING IT!

I txt’d CJ this AM and got a reply immediately:
#1: “Oops will have to call later”
#2: know more tonight, but the WORRY!”
to which I replied, “Is everything ok, now I WORRY”

I called her DH cell, but he’s not answering…

…..later that evening.

CJ is on the phone with me now~ Baby Girl is FINE now- it was a temporary transition from being taken off a rich oxygen mix, to a lower one and was a little wheezy this morning. They noted her heart rate was up a little, but the Dr. said it appeared to be a temporary side-effect of her beginning to breathe more regular on the less rich oxygen she was used to, and to be expected.

Daddy just returned my call ( I canโ€™t sit still here, itโ€™s drivin me nuts)
They removed the โ€œPICC Lineโ€ (PICC: peripheraly inserted central catheter). Those are the tubes she had in her arm, just like Mommy had when they were sick with the infection and they were used in addition to the naval tubes for feedings. That was a big step and today she accepted her formula. They havenโ€™t been able to hold her for 2 days, to let her rest from the stress of the procedures.

He told me something the Doctors remind them every day, it helps keep me in focus: we have to remember, she shouldnโ€™t even be out of the womb, so anything she is doing is GIANT steps for her and the Doctors are still amazed.

WHOOHOO!!She’s up to 3 lbs 13 ounces and is scooting all over the incubator like a little fishie out of water, as we speak!

Christy says she is the only Mommy in the NICU who reads to her baby, is that kewl or what??ย 

Mommy is tired, so we ended the call early, so she could go lay down and relax after a very stressful day.

The pictures say it all! Comments to follow~

Bright Eyes
Bright Eyes
Bette Davis Eyes
Bette Davis Eyes
Sleepy-Time Gal
Sleepy-Time Gal
Baby Thumbs!
Baby Thumbs!

G’night!

Me~

12 responses to “She’s Got Bette Davis Eyes”

  1. Today 10:50 PM
    Keenkitty said:

    I had no idea what was going on with your little granddaughter I feel terrible I was so oblivious! I am a terrible friend and I am so sorry I was not there to be more supportive (especially when I was a 3lb 8 pounce preemie! me and Rhonda gotta stick together!) Give her my love and tell her little preemies gotta hang tough so we have war stories to tell people about later! My thoughts are with you!!! XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO! KJ

  2. Aw I would be very proud also dear, what a precious little baby girl she is!!!

    Posted Yesterday at 10:56 PM by whatevergirl

  3. What a little angel!

    Posted Today at 10:16 PM by Darian Moone

  4. What a little darling! You have every reason to be bustin’ your buttons!

    So glad the news was good and I second the request. Don’t let CJ keep you hanging!

    Posted Today at 09:12 PM by TessieAnn

  5. I am sending up prayers as we speak, honey. She looks amazing in those photos you posted. I hope and pray all is well and this is a minor normal baby glitch. New mommies always worry! That is my solace right now…I hope she is doing as well as she looks.

    Posted Today at 08:45 PM by AutumnLeaves

  6. She is so lovely! Delovely and delightful to be sure. She is looking bigger and stronger by the day, isn’t she? Look at her looking at her daddy!

    Posted Today at 08:43 PM by AutumnLeaves

  7. Gorgeous baby girl! I can’t wait to hear stories of her escapades in a few years

    Posted Today at 08:20 PM by khyricat

  8. I’m glad to hear she is fine.. and btw: PICC: peripheraly inserted central catheter…

    The fact that they could remove it means they aren’t supplementing her with parenteral feedings anymore and don’t expect to have to give a ton of IV meds that need to go close to her heart. that is a great sign of improvement!

    Posted Today at 07:45 PM by khyricat

  9. I remember exactly those words and they gave me such comfort. My babies were born 31 and 1/2 weeks and that was pretty good. My cousins’ baby was born at 28 weeks and he was a singleton. He is running with scissors these days.
    Those little babies play catch up and it is the girls that are stronger in the NICU it seems. (((hugs)))

    Make a deal with them not to leave you hanging so long next time they have some news. The horror of not knowing could cause you health issues also.

    Posted Today at 07:02 PM by morningstar

  10. Daddy just returned my call ( I can’t sit still here, it’s drivin me nuts)
    They removed the “Pic Line” I think he called it. those are the tubes she had in her arm, just like Mommy had when they were sick with the infection and they were used in addition to the naval tubes for feedings. That was a big step and today she accepted her formula. They haven’t been able to hold her for 2 days, to let her rest from the stress of the procedures.

    He told me something the Doctors remind them every day, it helps keep me in focus: we have to remember, she shouldn’t even be out of the womb, so anything she is doing is GIANT steps for her and the Doctors are still amazed.

    CJ is going to call me later as she is able. Thanks again, everyone!

    Posted Today at 05:29 PM by manyhorsesmane

  11. No news is horrible when you have to wait in suspense. Makes you feel so helpless not to know what’s going on and not being able to help.

    I hope you get an answer soon and that whatever is happening isn’t serious. In the meantime, you’ve got all the healing vibes and warm, loving thoughts enveloping sweet baby Rhonda and coming your way.

    Let us know, okay!

    Posted Today at 05:26 PM by TessieAnn

  12. Prayers and good vibes coming your way for precious little Rhonda.

    Posted Today at 05:24 PM by ole gray mare

Leave a comment