jump to navigation

Day 2, Welcome Back, Mike!! August 27, 2013

Posted by Stella☆LunaC in Mike's Big Adventure in Liver Transplant.
Tags: ,
trackback

Day 2: Tearful Reunions!
I got to UW Madison at 10:00 and went straight to ICU, apprehensive as to what to expect when I saw Mike for the second time since his surgery.
The night before had been somewhat unnerving when I got a call around 6:30pm from his day nurse; Mike was asking for Dad’s phone number…. Immediately I began to wonder if he was back in Encephalo-Land, and sure enough I found out very soon, when I made a call to speak with him.
He was at first clear, although having a hard time speaking due to the breathing tube they had removed that morning. Still, as the conversation progressed, it became clear he still had some lingering encephalopathy lurking in the background.
He said he didn’t see me when he woke up, and got upset that I would abandon him right as he was coming out of his anesthesia. I assured him I was there, that he was very groggy, and really out of it. I explained to him how they sent me home to get some much needed rest and to also allow him to rest post-op. He seemed to calm down a bit, and went on to talk about random things that happened before the surgery. The conversation trailed off as his voice lost its oomph, and I told him to get some sleep and I would come see him the next day 🙂
He tires easily, alternating between restful and aggravated because he’s on crushed ice and crushed vitamins, UGHS! But I am no longer the Water Nazi, and soon he will be off the ice chips and onto liquids again. Cause for Celebration in order!!!!!

20130826-122432.jpg

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

