jump to navigation

Swatching, it’s what’s for beginners! September 23, 2011

Posted by Stella☆LunaC in A Stitch in Time | Discussions, A Stitch in Time | Projects.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I have joined the ranks of committed knitters who insist that switching is mandatory to a successful garment fit.

I have not completed nearly the number of garments that would clinch a successful knit gauge and feel comfortable in the knowledge that a finished project will fit.
I don’t care how long you’ve been doing what you do best, there’s always room for improvement, whether it’s riding a bike, crocheting a doily, or knitting a sweater or vest. I’ve been a seamstress for over 40 years, and yes I can eyeball a yard of fabric to within mere mm’s, or form a perfect hem just by looking at it, but I can’t turn a jacket lining inside-out, perform an alteration, and return said lining to its original state prior to the RIPPIT, without a road atlas and GPS.

I’m taking some sage advice from Knitty on swatching, complete with charts and calculations for every yarn weight out there.

I think this swatch will double as one of the pockets for the Cuff-To-Cuff Sweater mentioned yesterday.

20110923-104343.jpg

Ohey, the Brewers clinched NL Central at Miller Park tonight – Division Leaders, first time since 1989! I’ll be wearing my Brewers t-shirt proudly, come Monday morning~WHOOT!

Comments»

1. Charlene - September 24, 2011

Thank you so much for that link! I’ve shied away of swatching and that article gives wonderful instructions on doing it correctly.


Leave a Reply

