jump to navigation

Agatha Knits on Christmas Day December 27, 2010

Posted by Stella☆LunaC in A Stitch in Time | Projects.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I received the most wonderful surprise in the mail from a Friend Down Under, last week!

I love the calender! Birds are my passion, I just adore watching them.

Mike and I had an unusual Friday. Mike hollered for me to come look out the back window-a Red-Tail hawk had snagged a squirrel while it was foraging for peanuts out on our back deck rail. I had just put the peanuts out not 5 minutes earlier, and apparently one squirrel wasn’t paying attention. After catching his prey, the hawk carried it up into the trees, while a family of crows gathered nearby, giving  Hawk no end of grief. The drama unfolded as the crows followed the hawk from one tree to the next, cawing and swooping at him.

I ran upstairs and confirmed my worst fears, the catch spot-the evidence was on the deck rail and in the snow below. I felt a mixture of sadness and celebration of the Circle of  Life.

I’m going to remember this day now, every time I put peanuts out for the Blue Jays, Crows, and squirrels. It’s going to be tough, I don’t think I will be able to stand at the window now, there will be moments of regret. I’m glad I wasn’t there to witness it, but I knew about the family of Hawks-they have been nesting here in our neck’o the woods for 3 years in a row, and have decided to stick around a while.

I have the calender by my coffeemaker now. The yarn, Ixchelbunny Mulberry Silk, “Shiburi Indigo” is absolutely delicious~ what can I make with it, hints and ideas welcome!

On Christmas Day, to celebrate my 2nd anniversary of knitting, I started a new project: The Agatha Cardigan by Snowden Becker.

Agatha Cardigan

I did one set of 32 rows for the pattern on Christmas day, then the second pattern set on Sunday.

2 sets of 32 row pattern

I’m using Plymouth Encore Tweed, Grey Heather.

I’m liking the weight and feel of this worsted-weight 10-ply yarn, and think it will be warm but not too bulky. I had to laugh at myself yesterday-the tan speckles looked like bread crumbs, I kept trying to brush them off~  LOL!

I found a book on eBay I simply must have! At Knits End: Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much, by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee aka the Yarn Harlot.   It’s loaded with lot’s  of humour, only another knitter would understand, according to the description.

I also snagged two Crochet books I was watching for, for over a year now! I’m waiting for a 3rd book listing to end bids, to see if I win.

Crocheted Snowflakes & Angels Leisure Arts #255

Star Book No. 10, The Variety Book of Crochet by American Thread Company

Time to warm up the lasagna and garlic bread.

Wishing you all a good night and sweet dreams~

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

