jump to navigation

X Marks the Spot May 29, 2010

Posted by Stella☆LunaC in A Stitch in Time | Projects.
Tags:
trackback

The Alaska Jacket is coming along; I’m at the first pattern row and haven’t made a single miscount yet.

Go ahead, click the image to see a close-up and the picture, too!

Alaska Jacket in progress

Alaska Jacket in progress

It’s Memorial Day weekend, and we just finished scrubbing down the upper deck to get it ready for staining. I can’t wait-once it’s stained, I’ll have my patio furniture to move back upstairs, and my Reflections Tree Fort will be complete :D

Later that day:

Finally, the day has come to an end, and I’m back inside. We had a perfectly beautiful day.

Went for a walk with the neighbor this morning at 9, a little later than usual. It was warm but nice, and we spotted a fox while out walking-it crossed the road in front of us, and when I called out to it, it stopped and watched us walk by-I spoke to it until it turned and cantered off into the woods.

The Summer People have invaded us!!! It was crazy busy in town-we had to go for beer-DH let it run out and didn’t check his supplies before we went out, so we had to turn around and go back out~

DH made me a bucket of soapy water and I scrubbed off the upstairs deck, (my Tree Fort) and then hosed it off in preparation for tomorrow when we will stain the deck. He got the front yard mowed and I planted some Roma tomatoes in a couple remaining pots.

DH grilled out tonight-we had Italian sausages and roasted red peppers, which I peeled and sliced, then put into a container and covered with olive oil, a dash of red pepper flakes, and some dried basil for seasoning. I will use some of the roasted red peppers for my hummus recipes over the summer. YUM!

We decided not to camp out tonight-it’s going to be a hot one tomorrow, and we didn’t want to wake up cranky and sweaty, when we have so much to do tomorrow. SOooooo, we’ve put it off for another day.

I got the X pattern completed today-Will post a picture when I can get a daytime shot. The only problem I think I ran into with the pattern is, when switching the colors, there are yarns that span the spaces between colors. I have found that when I pulled those cross-over yarns, I created a little too much tension, and some of the X’s are a bit tight. I think I may be able to pull out the slight puckering in some, when I block the finished jacket. I have another row to do further up in the shoulders and on each sleeve, so I hope to perfect the tensioning while changing colors, so as to avoid the slight pucker.

Time to check out for the night-tomorrow is a new day!

Comments»

1. KnitNurd - May 30, 2010

Great post…love watching the progress of your jacket!!


Leave a Reply

