jump to navigation

Knitting Techniques : The I-Cord January 19, 2010

Posted by Stella☆LunaC in A Stitch in Time | Tutorials.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

The Knitted I-cord: “I” is for “Ingenious”

The venerable Elizabeth Zimmerman rediscovered and named the I-cord (the I-cord, called a “stay lace,” was mentioned in Victorian needlework manuals). The “I” stands for “idiot” because Ms. Zimmerman thought the technique was so simple anyone could do it.
The I-cord is simply a tube knitted in the round with two double-pointed needles (I’ve done it with a long circular needle, too).

I-cordThe I-cord is one of those things in knitting that is endlessly useful. The technique is somewhat idiot-proof, once you get the hang of it, and it’s also really mindless knitting—the I-cord is something to do in front of the TV or with a good audio book on board for sure!

Here’s a quickie tutorial:

With a double-pointed needle, cast on the desired number of stitches, 3 is a good number. *Without turning the needle, slide the stitches to other end of the needle, pull the yarn around the back, and knit the stitches as usual; repeat from * for desired length.

(The illustration above shows knitting the stitches after you’ve slid the them to the other end of the needle.)

Here’s a really easy Vickie Howell video tutorial (check out her way-cool tatt on her arm!):

I’ve worked a short I-Cord, as a real illustration. I’m a Lefty Knitter, so it’s going to be opposite of what the above illustration shows, but I tried to duplicate it as closely as possible; you get the idea.

I-Cord

These are great for making a tie for a poncho, eyelet closure for a knitted blouse (stay lacing) or strings for a cap.

Reminds me of my elementary school days when I first learned how to make a Daisy Chain with dandelions 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

